Homemade energy bars (similar to Cliff bars)

I had a Cliff bar at the MS walk last weekend, and thought to myself, as I always do, I can do this… Sooooo I tried my hand at making homemade energy bars…

1 cup rolled oats
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup raisins
1 cup coconut
1/2 cup peanut butter
3 oz water
2 oz honey
pinch of salt

directions:

Add oats and water to food processor, pulse a couple of times. Add in remaining ingredients and blend until a dough is formed…, you may need to scrape down sides of bowl.

I lined a small bar pan with foil and sprayed it lightly with cooking spray, then I pressed the mixture into the size I wanted. It made a about 24 servings.

Notes for next time:
Cranberries (naturally sweetened)
Cocoa powder
Cinnamon
Dried strawberries or blueberries

I would love to hear your suggestions…

About Trace Hillman

I am a dad, husband, and a food guy.. I love the idea of bringing people together and having real food.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade energy bars (similar to Cliff bars)

  1. Anissa says:

    How about using Almond Butter instead of Peanut Butter, and Agave Syrup instead of Honey?

  2. Trace says:

    Anissa.. great suggestions. I actually used almond butter in my first batch, I liked it, but I went with peanut butter the second time for value.As for Agave.. I am a big fan, but I am concerned that some varieties are not 100% agave… I am looking into local agave…

Leave a Reply

